top of page

The Scene ends nearly 10-year run on KPGZ, announces CCKC as exclusive home

From the show's Facebook page (11/16/23):


I recently celebrated 10 years as a volunteer at 102.7 FM KPGZ. I started on October 31st, 2013, when the station was still an internet station. I have worn a number of hats since then, including producing (or aiding in the production of) four different shows, social media management, and advertising. I even helped erect the station's original tower. For more than a decade, the station has been a weekly part of my life, and that's what makes this post a little difficult.

Friday, November 24th will mark my final broadcast for the station. Times are changing, and it's time to move on. I'd like to thank Ron and Sylvia Warner for having me around in the station's early days. I'd like to thank my wife, Rebecca, for getting my foot in the door and putting up with me weekly on both of her shows ("A Little-Bit of '80s" and "Free Lunch"). I'd like to thank original Scene host BK for getting me on the air (first as co-host of "Hair Band Heaven" in 2015, then as his replacement as host of the "The Scene" in 2016). I'd also like to thank Brian Watts for keeping me on after the change in management. It really was a fun ride.


FEAR NOT!!!


The Scene is NOT going away! Starting Monday, December 4th, Counter Clockwise KC Radio (counterclockwisekc.com) will be the show's full-time home! I'd like to thank Sean Harris for bringing me into the CCKC family last year. Monday nights will CONTINUE to be local music night, and you'll still have TWO opportunities to tune in each and every Monday at 7 and 10.


I'd like to thank the local artists who have sent their music to me in the past for airplay consideration, and I strongly encourage you to continue to do so.


I'd like to end by thanking YOU, the listeners, for your continued support of this show and the music you hear. I have always enjoyed playing these songs for you each and every week, and I am delighted to be able to continue doing so!


Thank you for listening!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • The Scene w/ Pretty Boy
  • The Scene w/ Pretty Boy
bottom of page